Anne Rice Books

The Vampire Chronicles

Information on Anne Rice Books including The Vampire Chronicles, The Vampire Lestat, Queen of the Damned, Tale of The Body Thief and more!

Interview With The VampireThe Vampire LestatQueen of the DamnedTale of the Body ThiefThe Vampire Armand

As far as Anne Rice Novels go, The Vampire Chronicles are one of the most famous and widely read series of books in the world. That is quite an accomplishment!

The series is made of up of ten books in total, published within a time span of 27 years. The main character of the series is Lestat de Lioncourt, a member of the house of nobles of France in the 18th Century, who transformed from a pure blood human into a vampire.

If you have not read an Anne Rice book, you really should at the very least check out one the books in The Vampire Chronicles series.

If you have read her books, you know of all the exquisite anguish and beauty she writes in to her pages. She has a true talent for emotionally gut wrenching longing, pain and desire.

The first book in the Vampire Chronicles series is known as The Interview with the Vampire, a book published in 1976 after being authored three years earlier.

As we all know this book was later made in to an Anne Rice film starring Brad Pitt and Tom Cruise.

The Vampire Lestat was the follow-up to the first book in the series and was published in 1985. The Queen of the Damned and the Tale of the Body Thief were published in 1988 and 1992 respectively.

Queen of the Damned still remains my all time favorite of all Anne Rice books.

After a three year wait, Memnoch the Devil was published in 1995 while the Vampire Armand followed in 1998. From 2000 to 2002, saw the release of three books in the Vampire Chronicles series, known as Merrick, Blood and Gold as well as Blackwood Farm. The last book of the series was released in 2003, called Blood Canticle.

Apart from Lestat de Lioncourt, other characters that appear in the series include Bianca Solderini, who stars as an Italian woman living in the city of Florence with a kind heart but forced to become an assassin when her brothers pass away and has to fulfill the wishes of evil family members in order to be provided with money to make a living.

Claudia, David Talbot, Daniel Molloy, Eric, Gabrielle de Lioncourt, etc. are other characters that appear in the Vampire Chronicles series.

The vampire characters that appear in Anne Rice books are quite different from the general characteristics of vampires depicted in other books such as Dracula. For example they are not repelled or weakened by objects such as garlic, crosses, wooden stakes, etc.

Even though Rice’s vampires are blood suckers, they can live a couple of nights without any blood supplies. They also thrive quite well on the blood of animals and not just humans. Most of them also don’t have any supernatural powers unlike many vampires in other novels.

Also, be sure to sign up for our Vampire Empire newsletter!

Enter your E-mail Address to Subscribe to VE Newsletter

Enter your First Name (optional)


Don't worry -- your e-mail address is totally secure.
I promise to use it only to send you Vampire Empire.

Please feel free to email us with suggestions and comments. We are always looking for ways to improve the 'Empire' and put in information that would help our fellow vampire enthusiasts!

Return to Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles from Anne Rice Books

Watch True Blood Free

vampire empire